KWoC '22 and my Learnings

KWoC '22 and my Learnings

Introduction

Hey Everyone, I hope you're doing extremely well. So, this Blog is about my Journey to KWoC '22, Which projects I have contributed to and my learnings from KWoC. KWoC is the month-long Coding Competition Conducted by the Kharagpur Open Source Society(KOSS) for getting students who are new to Open Source and encouraging them to prepare for Big Programs like GSOC which is Google Summer of Code.

My Keen Interest is in Frontend Development so I selected the projects related to that to upskill and learn by contributing to different projects. So, here are some of the projects that I have contributed to:

Projects

1)Top_Secrets

This is my first contribution to the KWoC '22 and I have created a Scroll to Top Button in the project using HTML, CSS and Javascript. I learned a lot from this project and the mentor was also so supportive and helped me throughout my contribution.

2)E-Commerce-Website

So in this contribution, I faced the same problem of scrolling upwards again and again so I raised an issue regarding whether can I create a scroll to Top Button which can help in scrolling so anyone does not have to scroll again and again. The mentor assigned the issue to me and helped me with the corrections I made to the website.

3)JavaScript-Projects

This project is related to Replacing the text input with the select tag in HTML and adding the city's name to check the weather. Here I learned the most things and mentors helped me throughout the contribution like how to search cities' weather from Postman API and add them to the project. The mentors were really helpful and guided me throughout the contribution.

4)JavaScript-Projects

This is the project to which I contributed after the end of mid-evaluation. Here I have added my Javascript project named Javascript Quiz App and the mentors found this helpful so they assigned the issue to me. Here the mentors played a big role in maintaining the project and communicating with the contributors.

5)Travel-WorldWeb

This is the last project I have contributed to KWoC where I added the Dark Mode feature in the website. I have learned how to create a Dark Mode and made the required changes to the website.

Pull Requests

Here are the Pull Requests of the Projects to which I contributed:

1)Kritika30032002/Top_Secrets/pull/11

2)i-ujjwaljha/E-Commerce-Website/pull/7

3)Shweta2024/JavaScript-Projects/pull/57

4)Shweta2024/JavaScript-Projects/pull/154

5)YadnikaDabhade/Travel-WorldWeb/pull/25

Summary

Overall it's been a great Journey of the KWoC and I learned so many different things throughout the month and made some valuable contributions. I would like to thank the Kharagpur Open Source Society for organizing this event so that everyone can contribute and take learnings from it.

Learnings

I would like to thank the mentors of the projects and the admins who supported me in my contributions and cleared all the queries whenever I asked for them. Looking forward to the next season of KWoC '23.

Thank you for reading my Blog and have a Great Day Ahead.